If you regret a message you sent on WhatsApp, you have a limited time to delete it for everyone. To date, it is exactly 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. According to research from WaBetaInfo, the limit could increase significantly, to just over two days.
This isn’t the first time we’ve heard of changes to the maximum time to delete a WhatsApp message: rumors that this limit would be removed were followed by a possible increase to one week. The last digit is exactly 2 days and 12 hours.
60 hours to delete your message
It seems like yesterday, but the ability to delete messages for everyone (for you and for the recipient) has existed in WhatsApp since 2017. Initially, you only had 7 minutes from the time you sent a message to remove it, although later the delay was increased to 68 minutes and 16 seconds, a figure still valid today but which could change. After this time, you can only delete the message for yourself.
According to WaBetaInfo, the latest beta version of the app tests a new maximum limit when it comes to deleting a message, and much more generous than the previous one. You would have 2 days and 12 hours maximum to use the Delete for All function, the one by which the message is deleted for both you and the other person.
When deleting a message for everyone, the message disappears but it says in the chat that the message has been deleted, so the deletion is obvious. Also, it should be remembered that even if you delete a message, it can be saved in notifications or using special applications.
This isn’t the first time WhatsApp has internally changed the maximum message deletion time for everyone, although so far the changes haven’t reached users, beyond the increase at the moment. era that is still in effect today. Only time will tell if WhatsApp ends up extending the maximum time to these two days, a figure much higher than the current one, if it will remain the same or if it will be something entirely different.
Through | WaBetaInfo