The competition for the Oscars is open: films like “The power of the dog”, “Dune” and “Belfast” are in the running. Stars like Will Smith and Nicole Kidman can hope for a trophy. German filmmakers also have award opportunities.

Los Angeles.

With twelve nominations, the film “The Power of the Dog” is the favorite of the Oscars this year. The drama has been nominated for Best Picture, among others, as the Academy Awards in Los Angeles announced on Tuesday.

New Zealand director Jane Campion and Benedict Cumberbatch and Jesse Plemons, who play two brothers who run a ranch together in Montana in the 1920s, also received nominations.

Canadian director Denis Villeneuve’s sci-fi epic ‘Dune’ has received ten nominations. Films such as ‘West Side Story’, ‘Belfast’ and ‘King Richard’ also have multiple chances to win. The 94th Academy Awards are due to take place in Hollywood on March 27.

The German tragic comedy “I am your human” by director Maria Schrader did not reach the Oscars final. The critically acclaimed Japanese film “Drive my Car” is represented in the “International Feature Film” category, which also received nominations in the top “Best Picture” category as well as for Director and Adapted Screenplay.

Hans Zimmer has Oscar chances

But German filmmakers are still involved in this year’s Oscars. Star composer Hans Zimmer (64) received the twelfth Oscar nomination of his long Hollywood career with the film score for the sci-fi drama “Dune”. The Frankfurt native received his only Oscar trophy to date in 1995 for the soundtrack to the cartoon ‘The Lion King’.

Special effects artist Gerd Nefzer could also win another Oscar. He worked on the visually stunning scenes of “Dune”. The Swabian native already won one of the coveted trophies in 2018 for ‘Blade Runner 2049’.

Kristen Stewart (“Spencer”), Jessica Chastain (“The Eyes of Tammy Faye”), Olivia Colman (“The Lost Girl”), Nicole Kidman (“Being the Ricardos”) and Penélope Cruz (“Parallel Mothers”) hope.

Besides Will Smith (King Richard) and Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power of the Dog), Denzel Washington (Macbeth), Javier Bardem (Being the Ricardos) and Andrew Garfield are in the Best Actor category (“Tick, tick…boom! “)
appointed. (dpa)