Thanks to our Apple ID, which we sometimes also call an iCloud account, our devices are synchronized with each other and have access to a multitude of services directly linked to our account. Sometimes, however, we will need to close this session. Let’s see how to do it on our iPhone, iPad or Mac.

A logout to stop using the device or to resolve errors

There are two main situations in which we will have to disconnect from one of our devices. The first is that this device will no longer be ours. If we sell or give away our iPhone, iPad or Mac, we still need to sign out of our Apple ID and restore the device. The other situation is that we encounter a synchronization or connection error and we close the session and, just then, restart it.

Whatever the reason that leads us to disconnect, on our iPhone or iPad we will do it like this:

We open the Settings app on our iPhone or iPad. At the top, we play on our behalf. Scroll down and tap Sign out. If necessary, we write down the password of our Apple ID. If we are asked if we want to keep the data, we check or uncheck the different options depending on whether we are going to reconnect or stop using the device. We touch Log out again to confirm.

On the Apple Watch, given its link with our iPhone, it is not possible to disconnect individually. If we sign out of iCloud on our iPhone, the same session will also be signed out on the Apple Watch.

On Mac, signing out of Apple ID is also very simple. The steps to follow are:

From the Apple () menu, we choose System Preferences. We enter the Apple ID section. In the sidebar we touch Preview. Click Log Out. If necessary, we write down the password of our Apple ID. If we are asked if we want to keep the data, we check or uncheck the different options depending on whether we are going to reconnect or stop using the device. We touch Log out again to confirm.

It’s easy. As we can see, disconnecting our devices is a very simple process. It is true that it may seem a bit long because of the confirmations, reconfirmations, the password that we must enter and the options regarding the data, but for everything else it is a quick process.

Since we are talking about the topic, it is worth remembering that when logging out, some settings related to the account disappear from our devices. Settings are not always restored on reconnection. For this reason, in general, it is not recommended to log off just because, only in the cases that we have commented on above. In the end, as we have already said, it is a very important session on our devices, so it is more than advisable to always start it.

Picture | Naomi Pongracz