With the arrival of iOS 15 and macOS 12 Monterey, Apple introduced an important new feature in Messages. We are talking about Shared with you, a system that takes care of distributing the content we receive among the different applications where we are going to see it. So if we receive a link it stays in Safari, a song in Music, and if we receive a photo it stays in the Photos app.

Photos in Photos, where they should be

One of the benefits of using Shared with you in Photos is that you no longer need to manually save the images you receive. The system takes care of saving the most important ones directly for us. Also, the images are tagged as received from a certain person, so we can respond directly from the Photos app.

Depending on our use of Messages and Photos, the system may, however, have some drawbacks. The main one is that the images that appear in Photos disappear when we delete the original conversation or file from the Messages app, or they are deleted automatically. Another is that from some people we will not want to save the received images.

Given what has been seen, it is possible to want to disable the feature for some users. The steps to do this are as follows:

We open the Messages application on our iPhone, iPad or Mac and enter the conversation with the person we are interested in. On the iPhone or iPad we touch the image/name at the top, on the Mac we touch the “i”. We’ve disabled the Show in Shared with You option.

If what we want is to deactivate the Shared with you function for all the photos we receive, the steps to follow, on our iPhone or iPad, are as follows:

We open the Settings app on our iPhone or iPad. We go to Messages. We play in Shared with you. We disable Photos.

Meanwhile, on Mac, the steps, although very similar, are as follows:

We open the Messages application on our Mac. In the Messages menu we choose Preferences. We enter the Shared with you tab. We disable Photos.

With these options disabled, the photos we receive via message will never leave the Messages app. Thus, if we want to keep any of the images that we receive, we will have to do it manually by touching the save button next to each image.

As we have already started saying, this feature has, depending on the use to which we are accustomed to giving both Photos and Messages, advantages and disadvantages. It is very likely that we appreciate the automation that the system is capable of. Thanks to it, we can, for example, look at the photos of a trip that we have made and see how the photos taken by other members of the trip, who have sent us, are included in the pass or in the memory.

On the other hand, although many of us may appreciate that some of the images received are saved in photos where we can see them again in context without having to go back in a conversation, others will prefer to continue doing the selection and registration manually. Fortunately, whatever our preference, the system gives us the options to customize the function.