Windows 11 is the news of this second part of the year at Microsoft. Apart from the inconsistencies it hides and the flaws inherent in belonging to a development version, I must admit that personally it left me with a good taste in my mouth. However, it’s understandable that many people don’t want to jump for some reason and in this case, it’s very easy to avoid the warning to upgrade to Windows 11.

The new Microsoft operating system is gradually reaching compatible computers and there are many compelling reasons that can cause many people not to want to upgrade to Windows 11 and not want to see the update notice. In this case, it can be achieved with these steps.

Modification of the register

To prevent the warning from appearing on our PC to switch to the new Microsoft operating system, just make two small changes to the “Windows Registry”. In this way, we take advantage of the TargetReleaseVersion function that comes with Windows 10 1803 and which allows the user to establish which version of Windows they want to update or which one they want to stay on.

To do this, you have to enter the “registry editor”, which we can do with the key combination “Windows + R” or by typing “regedit” in the search box.

We must then look for the path Computer HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE SOFTWARE Policies Microsoft Windows Windows Update and inside and with the right button of the trackpad or the mouse create a new DWORD value (32 bits) called TargetReleaseVersion to which it will be necessary to give the value 1.

Likewise and on the same site, we will create a “String value” called TargetReleaseVersionInfo with the value 21H1 which is the one that corresponds to the version in which we want to stay.

In the case of using Windows 10 Pro, these steps can be performed through the “Group Policy Editor” by finding the path Local Computer Policy> Computer Configuration> Administrative Templates> Windows Components> Setup Windows Update> Windows Update for Business and double-clicking Select the version we want to update to. We write 21H1, click “OK” and restart the computer.

Via | News block