Austrian writer Gerhard Roth is
died in his hometown of Graz at the age of 79.

This was confirmed by the Prime Minister of Styria, Hermann Schützenhöfer, on Tuesday evening. Roth was considered one of the great Austrian storytellers and writers, and at the same time always political.

The author became best known for his seven-part cycle “The Archives of Silence”, on which he worked between 1978 and 1991. The following “Orkus cycle” also received great recognition. More recently he wrote the Venice novel “There is no evil angel but love”. The multiple award-winning writer received the Austrian State Prize in 2016.

Van der Bellen pays tribute to Roth

Austrian Federal President Alexander Van der Bellen hailed the late writer as a “brave and intelligent voice”. “Clearly and coherently he dealt with Austrian history, the bright and often dark sides of our country.”

Following the wishes of his father, who was a doctor, Roth initially studied medicine but dropped out. 1966 to 1977 worked
he worked as a programmer and organizational manager at Grazer
Computer data center in addition to his literary work
to make a living. From the early 1970s
he published experimental prose (around 1972 “die
autobiography of albert einstein”) and also tried himself as
Playwright (“Lichtenberg”, “Longing”, “Twilight”).

A generous advance from a publisher allowed
Roth to concentrate entirely on the work on the “Archives of Silence”. In 1980 “The Quiet Ocean” was released here, the film version of which received the Silver Bear at the Berlinale in 1983. The 800-page book “Common Death” published in 1984 is the center of the cycle, consisting of a wide variety of literary genres, in which fiction and documentation (also photographic) mingle.

Enthusiasm for “The Lake” in the 90s

With “Der See”, the opening novel of his “Orkus” cycle, he deals with it
Roth 1995 for excitement in the ranks of the FPÖ, in a
populist politician who is almost assassinated
recognized her, then party leader Jörg Haider.

Roth is known for his literary work as well as for his
Reports, essays and interviews made politically clear
the attitude was honored. In 1994 he was awarded the Austrian Bookstore Tolerance Prize. Many other awards followed, such as the Jean Paul Prize in 2015, which is endowed with 15,000 euros. (dpa)